Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Officer
Main: USSGalaxy
Level: 4054

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 63
Post Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
See title, bit more description, basically if you have the ship form required commod ship in the base it asks the little popup if you want to use a ship form to start the build.

_________________
[img]http://imgur.com/83arlfr[/img]


Fri May 05, 2017 4:51 am
Profile
over 9000!
User avatar
Team: Traders
Rank: Director
Main: enkelin
Level: 5542

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:28 pm
Posts: 11056
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
USSGalaxy wrote:
See title, bit more description, basically if you have the ship form required commod ship in the base it asks the little popup if you want to use a ship form to start the build.


Which blueprint are you referring to? We have been moving away from requiring ships as build ingredients in the first place.

_________________
(DefQon1) use a Rhino reconstruotereatarerer
-
(Pasta) I need to figure out how to get rid of this UrQa Suqqa Ukuk
(Bluenoser) Put your finger in your mouth and gag reflex should do the rest


Fri May 05, 2017 11:18 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Operator
Main: Maxathron
Level: 1724

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:16 am
Posts: 5725
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
Most if not all ship upgrades pop out an item rather than the full ship, and the devteam have been working to remove the ship itself cost from the blueprint. You would need the original ship so without it, the item is worthless.

But I am with enk. Which blueprint?


Fri May 05, 2017 11:44 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Officer
Main: USSGalaxy
Level: 4054

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 63
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
Was largely talking about all these twisted ones requiring Fwings, Death Stikers. I'm sure a bunch of people have FWings laying around from when the people used them as trade slaves, in slave form. Could see the only issue being canceling the build and then retrieving an itemform for free. I also believe PBF takes a Rosie and a Dread. There are a few bps that take ships.

_________________
[img]http://imgur.com/83arlfr[/img]


Thu May 11, 2017 8:45 pm
Profile
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Operator
Main: Maxathron
Level: 1724

Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 11:16 am
Posts: 5725
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
PBF pulls from a Dread and a Pax Astro, neither of which are lower tech PBFs. They're also cheap enough to build on a whim.

Death Strikers use an ancient ship for the basis of the new ship's form. The Faranji Wingship is not actually a lower tech Wingship or Death Striker (which is actually is its own lowest tech version).

Sorry bud, but that's the response I got months ago when I wanted Ship Upgrades for everything. If it isn't a literal higher tech version, it gets no upgrade. I had specifically wanted an upgrade item for RP ships from EFBS/EFDN and they were deemed similar, but ultimately different ships from the Dreadnought, so no go.


Fri May 12, 2017 12:44 am
Profile
Content Dev
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Director
Main: SunDog60
Level: 4659

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:15 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Canada
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
USSGalaxy wrote:
I also believe PBF takes a Rosie and a Dread. There are a few bps that take ships.


You're thinking of the Blue Photon Corvette.

_________________
T21 Skills and Dailies Guide - Personal Wiki Contributions - Monthly Wiki Contributions


Sat May 13, 2017 12:05 am
Profile
Content Dev
User avatar
Main: Almighty Pixel
Level: 4

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:22 pm
Posts: 345
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
USSGalaxy wrote:
Was largely talking about all these twisted ones requiring Fwings, Death Stikers. I'm sure a bunch of people have FWings laying around from when the people used them as trade slaves, in slave form. Could see the only issue being canceling the build and then retrieving an itemform for free. I also believe PBF takes a Rosie and a Dread. There are a few bps that take ships.


Just to add information: Death Strikers can be upgraded into the Death Obliterator via a mission available, it was suggested by Churchill during the development stages of Twisted zone.


Sat May 13, 2017 10:27 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Officer
Main: USSGalaxy
Level: 4054

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 63
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
This is besides the point, it doesn't particularly matter what ships in general, my only thought was allowing slave formed ships to be used in builds.

_________________
[img]http://imgur.com/83arlfr[/img]


Sat May 13, 2017 5:36 pm
Profile
Content Dev
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Director
Main: SunDog60
Level: 4659

Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:15 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Canada
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
USSGalaxy wrote:
This is besides the point, it doesn't particularly matter what ships in general, my only thought was allowing slave formed ships to be used in builds.


You can just have blueprints build upgrade items if they require a base ship. Also, some blueprints require two ships, which is where this encounters an issue. But that begs the question, at that point, do we want players to be able to use a ship they have unpacked and presumably used for a while? It's kind of like an augmenter, like upgrading your Wattage Augmenter to a Divine Wattage Augmenter. Do you think you should be able to upgrade your equipped Wattage Augmenter into a Divine one, especially onto a different ship?

_________________
T21 Skills and Dailies Guide - Personal Wiki Contributions - Monthly Wiki Contributions


Mon May 15, 2017 12:13 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Officer
Main: USSGalaxy
Level: 4054

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 2:31 pm
Posts: 63
Post Re: Allow Blueprints to Pull Shipformed Ships
SunDog60 wrote:
USSGalaxy wrote:
This is besides the point, it doesn't particularly matter what ships in general, my only thought was allowing slave formed ships to be used in builds.


You can just have blueprints build upgrade items if they require a base ship. Also, some blueprints require two ships, which is where this encounters an issue. But that begs the question, at that point, do we want players to be able to use a ship they have unpacked and presumably used for a while? It's kind of like an augmenter, like upgrading your Wattage Augmenter to a Divine Wattage Augmenter. Do you think you should be able to upgrade your equipped Wattage Augmenter into a Divine one, especially onto a different ship?


For augmenters, onto a different ship, no, I was considering the other day it'd be nice that if my build calls for a Div watt and I can't afford it as a noob, I would be able to build a watt then the div watt equips as an upgrade, but if the watt is already equipped and there would be no way to remove the watt from the equipped ship.

_________________
[img]http://imgur.com/83arlfr[/img]


Mon May 15, 2017 9:58 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.