Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:37 am
Posts: 400
Post Server Patch 2.27.2015
Discussion topic for post: http://www.starsonata.com/patch_notes/s ... 2-27-2015/


Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:22 pm
Profile
User avatar
Team: Eminence Front
Rank:
Main: Novus
Level: 4412

Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 8:31 pm
Posts: 45
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
Quote:
* Made is so that missions that reset themselves on completion (repeatable missions) will automatically correct themselves if they are marked as completed due to previously incorrect xml. This should fix most instances of missions being bugged for specific players.

Here's hoping it fixes my problem. :P


Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:54 pm
Profile
User avatar
Main: The Vert
Level: 60

Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:30 am
Posts: 1239
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
We already fixed yours, it was one of many similar issues, and when we fixed that, The SI decided to make a permanent fix for future issues :)

_________________
Important bug reporting information:

Please check these Bug report guidelines before you make your first bug report, or if you are uncertain on how to do it.


Fri Feb 27, 2015 3:55 pm
Profile
Site Admin / Dev Team
Team: Admins
Rank: Councilor
Main: The SI
Level: 2016

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 531
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
The Vert wrote:
We already fixed yours, it was one of many similar issues, and when we fixed that, The SI decided to make a permanent fix for future issues :)


Actually I don't think I edited his mission list like we normally do, I just worked on the general fix instead.

_________________
Hey, I'm Ryan! I've been playing Star Sonata since early 2005 and I've been involved with the development of the game since 2009. I do server and client programming mainly focusing on bug fixes, but I've also dabbled in creating a little bit of content too such as Captain Kidd.


Fri Feb 27, 2015 4:33 pm
Profile
Team: The Dividing Contrast
Rank: Director
Main: The Ultimatum
Level: 282

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:56 pm
Posts: 193
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
10k build stacks... now pls let us have over 2bil hull on bases


Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:46 pm
Profile
over 9000!
User avatar
Team: Traders
Rank: Director
Main: enkelin
Level: 5594

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 12:28 pm
Posts: 11109
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
potato2 wrote:
10k build stacks... now pls let us have over 2bil hull on bases


this

_________________
Hi, I'm Anil, a long-time player turned developer. I am Star Sonata's lead content developer, which means that I run weekly dev meetings and make sure that any proposed changes to the game receive proper review before going live.

http://www.starsonata.com/features


Sat Feb 28, 2015 12:11 pm
Profile
Site Admin / Dev Team
Team: Admins
Rank: Councilor
Main: The SI
Level: 2016

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:24 pm
Posts: 531
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
potato2 wrote:
10k build stacks... now pls let us have over 2bil hull on bases


Unfortunately the 2bil limitation on bases is a lot harder of a limitation to lift, its related to the fact that we use 32 bit integers for hull space related numbers.

Someone a bit informed on the matter might think, oh then why don't you just switch the integers to 64 bit? Then we can have no reachable limit on base hull space, just like credits! And they'd be right, but that change would require touching several hundred different parts of the code to make sure they all handle the 64 bit integers correctly. All in all it'd be a long process to make the change and ensure its bug free.

So in short, we'd like to but its a lot more work to make happen than it might seem.

_________________
Hey, I'm Ryan! I've been playing Star Sonata since early 2005 and I've been involved with the development of the game since 2009. I do server and client programming mainly focusing on bug fixes, but I've also dabbled in creating a little bit of content too such as Captain Kidd.


Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:14 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Psionic Corps
Rank: Officer
Main: Tristana
Level: 3469

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 10:14 pm
Posts: 5724
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
SI wrote:
potato2 wrote:
10k build stacks... now pls let us have over 2bil hull on bases


Unfortunately the 2bil limitation on bases is a lot harder of a limitation to lift, its related to the fact that we use 32 bit integers for hull space related numbers.

Someone a bit informed on the matter might think, oh then why don't you just switch the integers to 64 bit? Then we can have no reachable limit on base hull space, just like credits! And they'd be right, but that change would require touching several hundred different parts of the code to make sure they all handle the 64 bit integers correctly. All in all it'd be a long process to make the change and ensure its bug free.

So in short, we'd like to but its a lot more work to make happen than it might seem.



Just add the ability to equip another base to the base. XD. Each equipped base can have 2b max hull space!

_________________
Lemon


Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:21 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Perfect Nation
Rank: Director
Main: number666.5
Level: 3264

Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 4:12 pm
Posts: 3457
Location: nowhere
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
SI wrote:
potato2 wrote:
10k build stacks... now pls let us have over 2bil hull on bases


Unfortunately the 2bil limitation on bases is a lot harder of a limitation to lift, its related to the fact that we use 32 bit integers for hull space related numbers.

Someone a bit informed on the matter might think, oh then why don't you just switch the integers to 64 bit? Then we can have no reachable limit on base hull space, just like credits! And they'd be right, but that change would require touching several hundred different parts of the code to make sure they all handle the 64 bit integers correctly. All in all it'd be a long process to make the change and ensure its bug free.

So in short, we'd like to but its a lot more work to make happen than it might seem.

not only that, there will 5 lines be overlooked and that will lead to bugs, that we have to abuse or will make us cry

_________________
Valkyrie300 wrote:
You need to thoroughly think before sprouting exaggerated statements


Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:30 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Royal Corporation
Rank: Director
Main: Pure Evil
Level: 5066

Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 7:20 am
Posts: 1574
Location: UK > Wales > Bin+ computer with boardband :p
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
SI wrote:
potato2 wrote:
10k build stacks... now pls let us have over 2bil hull on bases


Unfortunately the 2bil limitation on bases is a lot harder of a limitation to lift, its related to the fact that we use 32 bit integers for hull space related numbers.

Someone a bit informed on the matter might think, oh then why don't you just switch the integers to 64 bit? Then we can have no reachable limit on base hull space, just like credits! And they'd be right, but that change would require touching several hundred different parts of the code to make sure they all handle the 64 bit integers correctly. All in all it'd be a long process to make the change and ensure its bug free.

So in short, we'd like to but its a lot more work to make happen than it might seem.


Along's you keep this in mind. Is it easier to adjust all content to fit within 2bil limitation or adjust the data type? Current state quota suggests you're taking the "fit into 2bil limitation" at the moment without properly balancing it. :?

Not saying I'm absolutely right on the situation but is a issue to consider. Its inevitable Mr Anderson :shock:

_________________
Fibre broadband in my brainzz!


Sun Mar 01, 2015 7:53 am
Profile
User avatar
Team: Star Revolution X
Rank: Councilor
Main: DreadLordNaf
Level: 5897

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:33 am
Posts: 676
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
Was the mission fix on this patch suppose to address issues like certain specific missions not being able to turn in? Like the one I mentioned here: viewtopic.php?f=92&t=60484

I ask because I still can't turn in that Strontium-90 mission :/


Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:52 pm
Profile
User avatar
Main: The Vert
Level: 60

Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:30 am
Posts: 1239
Post Re: Server Patch 2.27.2015
No, that specific issue occurs because there is no base that has the mission end in it, which is a development mistake. Fixing it in the files is a minor thing, and then we just need to patch it, and add the mission to the base through the live panel. I'll let you know when that is done :)

_________________
Important bug reporting information:

Please check these Bug report guidelines before you make your first bug report, or if you are uncertain on how to do it.


Sun Mar 01, 2015 1:39 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.